Mississippi University Research Authority


The Mississippi University Research Authority (MURA) was established in 1992 to promote the public welfare and foster economic development within the state. To this end, the association strengthens the links between the state government, its educational institutions, businesses and industrial communities by developing cooperative ventures.

MURA facilitates the formation of university research corporations to promote, develop, and administer enterprises arising from research or technological innovations in order to take advantage of opportunities of scientific, educational, and economic impact. This is done by providing a procedural and regulatory framework that allows researchers to extend their work into the private sector and benefit Mississippi's economy.

The authority is composed of the following members:

  • five members appointed by the Board from among the chief research officers of the eight institutions of higher learning;
  • the Vice-President of the Board during the term of his/her office;
  • the Director of the Department of Economic and Community Development (now Mississippi Development Authority), or designee;
  • the President of the Mississippi Resource Development Corporation, a non-profit corporation organized and operating under the laws of the State of Mississippi;
  • the Commissioner of Higher Education as an ex-officio, non-voting member.