The Office of Research and Sponsored Programs, through its Division of Research Development  and Division of Sponsored Programs Administration, offers services in support of University of Mississippi faculty and staff who are pursuing research or other sponsored projects funded by federal, state, or private agencies and organizations.  The services include; 

  • assisting with proposal development;  
  • reviewing and approving proposals; 
  • managing the proposal submission process; and 
  • negotiating agreements.

Submit a SPAN form to signal your intent to develop an external proposal, or contact your pre-award research administrator. After your SPAN form is submitted, you will be assigned a pre-award research administrator to work with you in developing and routing your proposal for institutional authorization and submission. 

What pre-award research administrator will likely be assigned to assist with my proposal?
If your unit is does not appear on the list, contact Renita Gray. 

Division of Sponsored Programs Administration (SPA)

SPA Pre-Award research admininstrators guide faculty through the complex process for applying for funding from external sponsors.  Pre-award administrators  may provide clarity of funding opportunities in terms of Institutional, state and sponsor policies.  Services offered include technical review of the required proposal documents along with detailed budget reviews to ensure completeness of application and compliance to sponsor guidelines prior to submission. 

Renita Gray, Interim Director, Sponsored Programs Administration 


Division of Research Development

The Division of Research Development can assist with grant prospecting, as well as developing interdisciplinary or interinstitutional proposals, early faculty career development grants, and limited submission opportunities, as well as helping faculty position their proposal ideas with funders and develop compelling and competitive proposal narratives. 
Jason HaleDirector of Research Development